Words…

th

Words, words, words,

black, brown red, words

for which my tears have

shed. The living word

speaks truth, yet one

must die to have real

proof.

Our birth from death

is taught in the Holy

text, we will not truly

live until this sacrifice

has been met. The sky

will open the “Just”

will fly away, the

“Wicked” given a

second chance must

stay.

Words, are they truth

or a means for the pious

to lie, and for the answer

are you willing to die?

I want to believe, to hope,

to live life to its fullest

here on earth, and I

choose to live until

that final rebirth.

To taste the lush berries

down in the blackberry

thicket, to smell the wild

rose on the side of the hill,

to find a love that will not

let my heart be still. I want

to lie in a clover field

watching bellowing clouds

float by, to gaze at a

summer’s cobalt sky.

I want to read poems with

my legs dangling over the

highest cliff, this…only this

will give my earthly heart a

lift. To stare out at forever,

on the landscape below, as

I pray that my time in the

here and now will travel

ever so slow.

I want to dip my toes into a

frothy sea, to feel the salty

wind upon my face and

know that I am in the

right place. Here on earth

with my love by my side,

yes, oh yes, God can wait

for a while.

 

©2013.annjohnsonmurphree

 

WEEKEND COUNTDOWN ALL EBOOKS $.99

 

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_11?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=ann%20johnson-murphree&sprefix=ann+johnson%2Caps%2C344

YOUTUBE:

 

7 thoughts on “Words…

  1. Ann, love these images. Esp “read poems with my legs dangling over the highest cliff.” The life God has given IS beautiful, I agree. I suspect God smiles at our at taking great pleasure in it. Beautiful sentiments. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.